The Lineup at San Pedro Creek

These wildlife paintings line the bridge path over San Pedro Creek in Pacifica. I pass them when I walk from the Linda Mar Beach parking lot over the bridge to the surf shop, where I rent a board and wetsuit. And I see them again when I return the equipment.

The Picasso-y pelican was an instant favorite, but the other guys have grown on me. They are sweet, and sometimes quite menacing, which I enjoy.

A small plaque on the heron painting indicates that the pieces were created by members of Sheila Gamble Dorn’s 3rd grade class, 2003-2004. It also reads “Don’t Bust on These”. No way, guys! Your paintings are awesome.

My Pal (White Pelican)
My Pal (Pelican)

 

Flappity doodle, I like this guy. (Egret)
Flappity doodle, I like this guy. (Egret)

 

A penguin either throwing up both wings in protest, or honking his beak and conducting with other wing. (Laughing Gull)
A penguin either throwing up both wings in protest, or honking his beak and conducting with other wing. (Laughing Gull)

 

Jolly Heron
Jolly Heron

 

Nightmare With Turquoise Eyes
Unsure of species.

 

A Serious Nightmare. (Red Tail Hawk)
Certainly a dark lord. (Red Tail Hawk)

 

Turtle on Log. Apropos, as the creek is quite polluted.
Turtle on log. Apropos, as the creek is quite polluted. And flows onto the beach.

2 thoughts on “The Lineup at San Pedro Creek

  1. The fuzzy penguin is my favorite, probably due to your excellent description. On another note, I heard that Californians are being asked to stay out of the ocean today because all the storm drains are going to be emptying into the ocean en masse due to this heavy rain.

    1. Thanks. I think that was the only truly inspired description.

      Good thing I was not in the ocean on the 13th. Linda Mar beach is polluted enough as it is, thanks to the creek runoff.

Leave a Reply

